Well, it was mine for about 1/2 an hour…

OK, well … it was mine, but I never got to drive it.

It was somewhat like this one:

800px-1964_Corvair_Monza

The difference was mine was kinda a lavendery pink with white leather interior and white convertible, and white white wall tires. It had sat for 2 yrs and the paint had oxidized so it wasn’t shiny. But it was mine! I intended to paint it bright yellow (not pastel yellow like this image here), but bright yellow jacket yellow with black trim. And the Autobots‘s Bumble Bee was NOT even a gleam in anyone’s eyes back in 1971…

Anyway, back to my story … My Dad and a few guy friends went to pick it up somewhere near the Carlisle, PA area. Like I say, it sat for a couple years and belonged to a little old lady. Apparently she had it painted that pinky lavender since I haven’t seen any anywhere that color.

My Dad picked the car up after putting in some gas and it actually started right up! Wow. He and the guys drove it home to the farm in PA where we were staying at the time. And drove it right up the hill, well more like gunned it up the hill, showing off a bit…Well, next thing I know, the car has a cracked block and there’s no way we can fix that. My Dad felt awful…I couldn’t let him feel bad like that so I told him not to worry about it. But it really did hurt as you can imagine. But people are more important than things…

It was so sweet of my Dad to even want to get this cool little car for me for my first car. I will always cherish his love for me and what he did for me in life and when he passed away. Daddy…Loving Memory

I wish I had gotten a picture of that little car before it died…

You are always in my heart Daddy…I love you and miss you so much!

What got me going on this today? I don’t know, we were talking about first cars, and was looking around on the Internet today and came across Keith’s Blog: The Corvair I Let Get Away and just had to tell my story too.

Oh, forgot to mention that my Dad didn’t forget … when we moved back to the Jersey Shore, he got me a Galaxy 500 Maroon/Burgundy with black roof and interior and fixed it up just so…like I mentioned in the postings about my Dad. He was an amazing fellow…

Comments on: "My lavender and white Corvair convertible" (7)

  1. Very nice, thanks for sharing Bambi!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I had a “My First Car” article on my old Lockergnome blog. It was the one of the most popular posts I had written there; not because I’m such an awesome writer, but more likely because we seem to enjoy reminiscing more as we age.

    I woke up thinking about this phenomenon this morning, actually. I think I’ll post something about it right now. Thanks for being today’s Muse, Bambi. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Awesome! Will check it out as soon as you post it Eric! ๐Ÿ˜€

    BTW: You are an awesome writer…

    • Ah phooey! If I was that good, I’d already be rich and famous. *blushing*

      • Nope. I know lots of very good writers that are not famous, or rich. Sometimes you just have to do what Cory Doctorow does … free advertising really does work to get you noticed. Once you get noticed, it’s much easier. I have bought Cory’s books but I also have all his books for free too.

  4. […] now know that My lavender and white Corvair convertible wasn’t a custom paint job but a real Chevrolet color of the day! Evening orchid. The only […]

Comments are closed.