Thought for the day – April 2, 2007

Harriet Tubman couldn’t read or write, yet two books were written about her during her lifetime and hundreds since then!

Two of her most famous sayings were: “Lord, you have been with me through six troubles. Be with me in the seventh.” And “I never run my train off the track and I never lost a passenger.”

In one of the books written during her lifetime, Harriet told about her feelings as she crossed the border between Maryland (where she was a slave) and free Pennsylvania.
Harriet Tubman said, “I looked at my hands to see if I was the same person now I was free. There was such a glory through the trees and over the fields, and I felt like I was in heaven.”

History Alive! The Underground Railroad in Wisconsin

Tag Cloud

