Boing Boing: Homeland Security radio-tags foreign visitors

Starting this week, three US border crossings will begin to tag visitors to America with wireless RFID-cards, which contain visitors’ personally identifying information and can be read from 12 yards away. The only exempted visitors are Canadians who are not on a US business visa or engaged to an American. If this program is “successful” (who the fuck knows what constitutes a “success” here — maybe Homeland Security has a divinating machine that can tell it whether fewer terrorists have entered the country this quarter than last?) this program will go live at every border crossing, in addition to the current practice of fingerprinting and photographing visitors (incidentally, the fact that the DHS had started to fingerprint me when I came home to San Francisco played a major role in my decision to abandon my US work visa and move to the UK — friends don’t fingerprint friends).

The original article was submitted to BoingBoing by Anne.

Guess our US Government has never heard of the golden rule? You know, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Thanks Cory for bringing this to light!

I can’t believe they are doing this. :disgusted:

Comments on: "Boing Boing: Homeland Security radio-tags foreign visitors" (2)

  1. Frankly, it doesn’t surprise me. I went to the U.S. twice a few years ago (’98 and ’99-’00) for a total of about six months. Liked the place. Loved the place. I’d really love to go back and hit the more out of the way places (as I really only saw a whole bunch of cities in the main) and especially get into some hiking in places like Wyoming or South Carolina, which I went through but didn’t stop in. It’s not going to happen though so long as all this uber-fascist nonsense is going on, which I think it will for a long time. Why should I be printed or tagged like a criminal or a dog? It all just seems way too scary for my liking.

    What’s even scarier is that this uber-fascist government nonsense seems rife across the west, especially in places that should know better, and it’s only a matter of time before we’re wearing yellow stars down here in Oz on a permanent basis. Actually, I know all this nonsense has to be coming soon, and will at least come into passports. Basically, once a handful of nations get on board with biometrics it will pretty well become de rigueur at the international level (and then it won’t be too long before we need to provide a blood sample just to buy a box of cornflakes at the local supermarket — all the more reason to flee the cities and go self-sufficient). Mine expires in 2012 (although I’m expecting this to come in way before then), and I am pretty sure I won’t be renewing it, which is a shame considering how much I love to travel. I’d like to try to take a fairly sizeable bite out of Asia before then, which I fear may be my last overseas trip for a very long time (and possibly ever). Sad. So many awesome places I’ll never get to see.

  2. I know what you mean … I am very concerned about it all myself.

    Thanks for your comments shorbe. 🙂

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

