Memorial Day…

To all the Veterans of all the wars, including my Dad, who was in the Army during the Korean War (and especially today, because my Dad passed away on this date May 26th, in 2005), I say, “Thank you” for all you’ve done for our country.

Many gave much more than others, their very lives. Others suffered great personal, emotional, spiritual, and physical tragedy due to their times in the wars.

We can not allow the stupidity of this war to turn this country sour on our Veterans again. It was a travesty when the Vietnam war ended and that happened and I felt so embarrassed and humiliated for this country’s behavior concerning their Veterans when they came home.

I remember when I was 16 and was in an bad accident and spent some time at the hospital in Valley Forge where some of those brave souls were coming home from the Vietnam War. Many missing limbs and going through rehabilitation while I was in rehabilitation as well learning to walk again. My heart went out to them. I knew what I had been through, and it was nothing compared to the horrors of war.

In the Vietnam war and in this war. Veterans are caught between a rock and a hard place, I think, even worse than the rest of us are in so many ways.

God bless you all and thank you for your service to your country. Regardless of who put them there, or why, that’s the role each serviceman and servicewomen is living out and I thank them for that…it’s not an easy road to follow. Especially for those in areas of battle and potential battle every day. And those who have been through hell and back as war tends to do to people.

Here’s a couple articles to think about. I read them and just went Wow!

Salute to Veterans – Ron Paul – 2008 – Texas Straight Talk – www.house.gov/paul/tst/:

Most of my efforts on Capitol Hill are focused on reducing the federal government’s size and scope, but I make an exception for a very important group of people. Our nation’s men and women in uniform commit a selfless act of patriotism when they take up arms in defense of our country. As a veteran myself, I salute all those currently serving, or who have served in our armed forces. Our nation owes them a debt of gratitude for their sacrifices, their courage, their time away from friends and family, and the dangers they undertake. This Memorial Day we honor our soldiers and vets, we remember those who never came home, or who have since passed on. Above all, we acknowledge our respect for all who have served in the military.

War Immemorial Day – No Peace for Militarized U.S. – by Bill Quigley – CommonDreams.org:

Memorial Day is not actually a day to pray for U.S. troops who died in action but rather a day set aside by Congress to pray for peace. The 1950 Joint Resolution of Congress which created Memorial Day says: “Requesting the President to issue a proclamation designating May 30, Memorial Day, as a day for a Nation-wide prayer for peace.” (64 Stat.158).

Much more in these articles! They are both on my must read list.

I have been out of sorts all day today, and I didn’t realize why, till my “baby sister” Deb called and mentioned the anniversary of Daddy’s passing today in a voice message and asking how I was doing today, and letting me know that their family was going out on a friend’s boat today.

I knew this day was coming. Realized it was only two days away, the day before yesterday. I think that subconsciously, I even realized it had arrived and that was why I have been out of sorts and feeling so down today.

Daddy, I love you and miss you so much!

EDIT: Added two articles and a quote from each. Thanks Kurt for sending these two articles to me.

Tag Cloud

