I Come To The Garden Alone:

I Come To The Garden Alone

I come to the garden alone
while the dew is still on the roses
And the voice I hear,
falling on my ear,
The Son of God discloses,

And He walks with me,
and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
and the Joy we share
as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

He speaks, and the sound of
His voice
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing,

And He walks with me,
and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
and the Joy we share
as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

I’d stay in the garden with Him
Though the night around me be falling,
But He bids me go;
through the voice of woe,
His voice to me is calling.

And He walks with me,
And He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own,
And the Joy we share
as we tarry there,
None other has ever known…

At this point, my Dad has made it known that he does not wish to prolong things, that he is ready. And after all he’s been through this past year, I can really understand his sentiments so well. I know I would likely feel the same way by now. It’s just … well you know.

Ya know, when I was a young child, sometimes when my Dad (who is generally a shy vocalist even though he has a very good voice), would sometimes be working by himself in the basement of our first home at the Jersey Shore (which was his family’s summer home when he was growing up that his Dad literally hand built over time for his Mom) on one project or another. While he worked he would whistle or sing, and often he would start singing “I Come to the Garden Alone.” If you went downstairs or said anything he would stop singing because he was shy about his singing, so I would sit at the top of the stairs and just be very quiet so he would keep singing and just listen. It would always give me such joy in my heart to hear him sing that song. Later in life, I remembered thinking that the way he sang, reverberating in the basement, reminded me of of the rich timber of Tennesee Ernie Ford’s version of the song.

Anyway, since I felt I didn’t have time to receive the actual album in the mail or find it at the stores, late night before last, I started looking to see if I could find a digital copy of Tennessee Ernie Ford’s rendition of “I Come to the Garden Alone” also sometimes called “In the Garden” or “He walks with me” by different folks.

I was looking for an mp3 version without any DRM so I could send it to my sister to play for my Dad. I found two renditions that were nice, but with no where near the impact of Tennessee Ernie Ford when he sang it. I also found albums of Tennessee Ernie Ford that included the song, and a couple sites where you could buy the song, but it seems it was likely a DRM’d version so I passed on it because my sister wouldn’t be able to play it on her computer.

Just one more concern regarding our lack of fair use over the last 7 years that’s very frustrating.

I should be able to buy the song and make use of it as I see fit as long as it’s in a substantially non-infringing manner. And to buy it to send a copy to my sister to play for my Dad to bring him pleasure at this time would certainly mean alot to him and to me.

The website I linked to in this blog entry is a loving tribute to someone else’s loved one, their Mom, who also loved this song dearly.

Daddy, Pappa … I love you!

Comments on: "I Come To The Garden Alone" (1)

  1. Thank you for all the emails about my Dad. They are greatly appreciated. I know many of you have gone through this yourselves, are in the middle of it, or dread the thought of having to go through this type of thing.

    But life unfortunately is a terminal disease … we are all headed that way … eventually.

    I guess the best thing is to just enjoy life to the fullest, as long as whatever you do doesn’t hurt anyone or anything (Golden Rule), and enjoy those you love while you can.

    No matter how you look at it … life is far too short to squander it!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

