My Dad, I fondly call him Daddy and Pappa, just celebrated his 73rd birthday May 1st.

I can’t tell you what that means to me and to my family. There are six of us kids, plus husbands, kids, and grandkids (great grand children to my Dad and Mother).

It is such a blessing that my Dad made it to his 73rd birthday. He has been through so much this past year. He has been struggling with brain tumor problems since last year and we have almost lost him several times in that time frame (once within the last month). But he is now home and we are hoping for the best.

He never gives up. I guess he would be considered a hacker or tinkerer, which began in a time before there were computers. He’s someone who isn’t afraid to take on a challenge. He has had curiosity about just about anything he is interested in and he is interested in a lot!

He once told me a story about when he was in school and how he took notes upside down and backwards (literally), starting at the bottom right and working his way to the top left of the page. All I can say is boy, he must have thought school wasn’t challenging enough .

It is mind boggling to have seen all the things he has done in his life.

In his mid to late 60s while struggling with CMT (Charcot Marie Tooth Disease), high blood pressure and angina, he even took on the challenge of learning a computer ~ and ~ writing, printing and locally distributing short edifying brochures.

Daddy has always laughingly called himself a jack of all trades and master of none. But if you knew him throughout his life, even for just the 50 years I have had the pleasure of knowing him, you would see that his perserverence and commitment in everything he does is simply amazing. Not to mention his commitment to his wife (my Mother) of 51 years, his very large family and extended family, his God and his world. Daddy’s intelligence, curiosity and love of learning, and his other passions including life itself, are truly inspiring.

Hey, Pappa! I love you and thank you so much for taking time with me as I grew up, and for letting a curious little kid, (even when I was a toddler), hang around and help on all the fun projects you were into as I grew up. I remember and cherish all the time we have spent in comradarie and learning and growing throughout my youth and the times we still have together when we visit. That time has served me well over my life and has given me great pleasure.

NOTE: Originally posted: May 2005 (recreated from mangled original bambismusings.blogspot.com)

Tag Cloud

