DVD Jon: buy DRM-less tracks from Apple iTunes | The Register:

“DVD Jon: buy DRM-less tracks from Apple iTunes
By Tony Smith
Published Friday 18th March 2005 13:44 GMT

If you’re happy to pay for your iTunes Music Store song downloads, but could live without that pesky DRM stuff the recording companies insist Apple inserts into each file, you’ll be pleased to know that notorious hacker Jon Lech Johansen, he of DVD Content Scrambling System de-coding fame, has figured out how to do just that.

‘DVD Jon’ has posted PyMusique a Python-based utility that offers a ‘fair interface to the iTunes Music Store’, co-written with Travis Watkins and Cody Brocious. The app provides the usual ITMS features – access to song previews and the ability to set up a payment account and to use it to buy songs – but there are two crucial differences.”

First, let me say, I TOTALLY disagree with DRM and refuse to make use of it on my computer (at least for any software that is non-Microsoft) .. and that too may soon be changing. Linux may be my next TOTAL upgrade from Windows if this crap doesn’t stop! Between spyware and DRM, viruses, worms and trojans…I really have just about had it with Windows.

And I do think the reasons given during DVD John previous court case, ie., making his own personal copies of decrypted DVDs so he could personally view them on his computer’s hard drive was totally within fair use of the medium, DMCA not withstanding. IMHO. He was not selling his copies, he was making personal backups on his hard drive for HIM to view. There was no piracy or evil intent involved.

Regardin my feelings about DRM. I am fully aware that when I installed WiMP 10 for security update reasons, it installed Microsoft’s DRM (which really ticked me off, by the way), but I don’t use WiMP for much of anything even locally originated music. I only use it to – very occasionally – try to view videos on news sites. And WiMP may be totally uninstalled before long if I get angry enough about it one day. But, as far as other programs that make use if DRM, they can kiss it goodbye as far as I am concerned.

However, as far as I know, other than WiMP and maybe the Microsoft Genuine Advantage that I had to become a part of to get a software tool I needed, I have not knowingly installed any software that makes use of DRM including but not limited to any software or music … such as music sites, movie sites, Intuit software, whatever!

And I don’t intend to. I don’t care how great the software is. It really doesn’t matter to me. I firmly believe DRM opens your computer up to malicious attack because it spys on you and has been used to misdirect you to malware sites in the past installing malicious spyware on your computer, simply playing wmp files that were especially crafted to do that … and over what? Something you paid darn good money for, and it prevents your complete fair use of the product or the music you buy, such as making ‘complete’ backup copies of CDs, movies and software you buy, or running the software or music on multiple ‘family’ computers (not limited to one, or three or whatever).

Having said that …

It is sad, but I think we may soon be bidding adieu to DVD John … because if recent attacks against “their own fan’s websites”* by suing them didn’t phase Steve Jobs, then what luck would DVD John have against his wrath? Not to mention that Steve Jobs would likely have an easier time this time around since this would be DVD John’s 2nd time in court on a similar type of charge. It’s entirely possible that the “Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me” philosophy might be felt by the court this time.

I don’t know, stranger things have happened in the past year!

* Apparently “their own fans sites” was not entirely accurate. I was told to get my facts straight. To that I can only say, here are the facts as reported by ZDNet which actually called them “Mac Enthusiast sites”:

The Tiger-related suit comes a week after Apple filed a separate lawsuit in state court against an unnamed individual who leaked details of a forthcoming music product, code-named Asteroid. Apple last week got a judge to sign off on subpoenas for three Mac enthusiast sites in an effort to uncover the source of that leak.

My apologies…fans and enthusiasts are apparently not the same thing at all.

NOTE: Originally posted: March 2005 (recreated from mangled original bambismusings.blogspot.com)

Tag Cloud

